Our Taylor Swift Guitar Mural

Our big Swiftie wanted a Taylor made Taylor Swift guitar to start learning how to play on.  We promptly got on Craigslist and got her a decent guitar at a great price.  For her “Taylor” guitar, well I told her she could have a picture of it instead.  🙂

102_2084
102_2087
102_2086

How We Did It

I originally thought I would do a black outline of the guitar as a kind of fun artsy quick and easy project.  I originally was looking up how to build a cheap little DIY projector.  That would allow me to just project a shape I could somewhat copy up there.  But my daughter wanted a realistic guitar.  I kept trying to tell her I am not a painter nor an artist and I don’t have the skills for that kind of thing.  We were able to borrow a LCD projector and displayed and project a picture on the wall.  I told her we would give it our best shot and trying to go for the realistic type of guitar since we had such a clear projection to go from.  I set up the sequencing in the gallery below so you could get the idea of point A to point B.  The last picture in it’s own gallery shows the projection when we first started the project.  There was a few learning curves but we did it.  The projector was set up by her bedroom door and anytime anyone stepped near the thing, then it would get out of alignment due to carpet being pushed down around it.  That was a bit frustrating, but all in all we were very happy (I was very happy because I had absolutely no idea how it would turn out with no painting experience) with the end product and it took about 3 days to complete.  I advised her that she is not allowed to paint her room every again because that is staying.  🙂  We will see how long that lasts.

Img_0277
Img_0279
Img_0280
Img_0281
Img_0283
Img_0282
Img_0285
Img_0288
Img_0290
Img_0294
Img_0296
Img_0302
Img_0308
Img_0304
Img_0310
Img_0312
Img_0316
Img_0314
Img_0318
Img_0320
Img_0322
Img_0324
Img_0326
Img_0327
Img_0352
Img_0353
Img_0300
Leave a Reply

